Here’s a great Thanksgiving pie recipe to try this year. Coconut Pecan Pie!

Having the right tools makes all the difference on any job, and that statement is twice as true for kitchen tools. That’s why I wanted to share one of my favorite chef knives with you, the Ronco Rocker.

The Ronco Rocker is  a uniquely angled chef knife with a blade that a creates a rocking motion for effortless chopping, dicing and mincing. Sometimes, working with a chef’s knife on a big job can be intimidating… but I find that the Ronco Rocker’s stability and rocking motion makes chopping large amounts of an ingredient feel more controlled and precise.  When you’re handling a knife, it’s all about control. I also like this chef’s knife because of the price to quality ratio. I have several hundred dollar chef’s knives in my knife drawer, however, I keep on reaching for my rocker.23-Rocker_11.75

Recently, one of my neighbor’s shared with me some fresh pecans and wanted to share one of my favorite Thanksgiving desserts with you, Coconut Pecan Pie. This tried and true recipe is something that I’ve been making for years, and is always a family favorite.

Coconut Pecan Pie

When making any pecan pie, I like to chop my pecans for a few reasons. First, it’s easier to cut and serve a pie with chopped pecans over whole pecans. I find that whole pecans absorb more moisture and take on a mushier texture in pie, so I prefer the crunchier texture of the chopped nuts.

IMG_6670

 

This recipe is for a deep dish 9.5 inch pie pan. If you are not using a deep dish, just divide the recipe by half.

Cooking this pie at a little lower temperature for longer gives it a wonderful custard-y texture… and the coconut adds a depth of flavor and texture that I love.

Deep Dish Coconut Pecan Pie IMG_6691

Ingredients    

  • 6 large eggs
  • 2 cups granulated white sugar
  • 2 cups light corn syrup
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 cups pecan halves
  • 3 cups sweetened shredded coconut
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt
  • Pre-made 9-inch pie crust (pre baked for 15 minutes and chilled to minimize sogginess)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325
  2. In a mixing bowl, whisk together eggs and sugar until incorporated
  3. Add in corn syrup, vanilla, salt and melted butter, stir to mix
  4. Fold in pecans and coconut
  5. Pour into prepared pie crust
  6. Bake at 325 for an hour and a half, or until pie is mostly set and has only about a quarter size of jiggles in the center of pie.
  7. Allow pie to chill in refrigerator for 2-3 hours before cutting into it.
  8. Serving suggestion: add some homemade whipped cream with a pinch of pumpkin pie spice in it, along with some vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce.

Coconut Pecan Pie

Save